BACK ON MY KNEES AGAIN

Dealing with other Mental Health Advocates is not always pleasant. Everyone has their own opinions and agendas. Some people just want attention or to feel better by making other people feel worse. Mental Illness isn’t one size fits all. No two brains are the same and no two people are the same (my twin can tell you that if she decides to take your phone call).

I tried to show kindness to someone and it came back to bite me. The subject was “Hope”. The man was clearly upset and frustrated by the over use of the word because he still does not feel better. He was being attacked by other people who had found “Recovery” and “Hope”. I found myself defending him because I understand how it feels when you see only positive sites and Tweets. You feel like a failure and ask yourself why can’t you be like everyone else once again.

I’ve already spent most of my life feeling like I didn’t fit in I don’t need to feel that way at 44 years of age. I refuse and I won’t be bullied into it either.

Do your research. Some people will never find relief from their illness for various reasons. A late diagnosis, wrong medications given to them before the right diagnosis, autoimmune diseases, kidney disease, brain issues, co occurring mental illnesses, the list goes on. Educate yourself before you decide someone is lazy and doesn’t want to do the work to get better.

I’m losing patience fast and Serotonin is building up in my system so it go either way. My organs will fail or my head will explode from the injustice I see everyday. I’m okay with either at this point I’ve actually done more than most in my life.

Not many can say they went to a wedding with a member of Green Day and actually know one of them or the fun I had in L.A. and the people I met. The crazy situations I’ve been in and the weirdest people I’ve known. Who robs a bank and only takes the change? With no car? Walks home in the middle of the night with bags of change? People I know. Or the guy Manson I knew for years, turns out that wasn’t even his name! everyone called him that because he looked like Charles Manson! Poor Ricky who wore women’s Daisy Duke shorts with nothing else underneath (he could get away with it because he was bulked up from prison and tan from working on boats) but he had 10 kids with 10 different girls and went back to prison every winter. Last time I saw him he had lost his charm from heroin.

Anyway I’ve been able to travel and meet a few of my favorite bands. At one time I had too many friends and went out every night so it’s okay I’m good with whatever happens.

5 responses to “BACK ON MY KNEES AGAIN

    • Unfortunately I was drunk for 99% of it so I feel like somehow it doesn’t really count. I was annoying, rude, and I’m sure many people do not remember it the same way I do. I like to reflect back once in awhile to remind myself there were a few good times but I’d be lying if I said they were actual good days and not alcoholism mixed with manic episodes.

      Like

    • I love the bands from the 90’s Skid Row, Motley Crue, Soundgarden, Pearl Jam, Pantera, RATT, Metallica, Judas Priest, and then I love my mom’s music Elvis, Patsy Cline, Connie Francis, and my brother’s music AC/DC, Bruce Springsteen, The Baby’s, Billy Joel, Black Sabbath, all of it makes me feel something. There are not too many newer bands I like except some Slipknot, Buckcherry and I respect Dave Navarro.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

