ATTACK OF THE KILLER GALLBLADDER

I’ve been having Gallbladder attacks about 1 to 2 times a week for the last 6 months. Years ago I would have an attack every 3 to 4 months. But I’ve been having them for at least 14 years. My Primary Care Doctor would send me for an ultrasound and then say “Doctors really don’t like to remove gallbladders unless it’s really diseased”. Meanwhile the ultrasound techs were getting more and more frustrated on my behalf because they could see just how many stones I had (usually over 50). My Doctor continued to say the same thing about surgery.

Around this time other problems began to surface so my gallbladder problem was put to the side.

Two years ago I went into Kidney Failure losing the function in my right kidney. I was left with a little less than 70% function in my left kidney. I also have Celiac Disease. I had been in Kidney Failure for a long time and didn’t know it. I didn’t have any symptoms that would’ve stood out except for the amount of weight I was losing. Fast weight loss can also cause gallstones.

Six months passed from my kidney failure and I started to have problems with my stomach. I either couldn’t go to the bathroom or I was running to the bathroom. My gallbladder attacks became a little more frequent.

The past year I have had nothing but diarrhea and the last 3 months gallbladder attacks at least once a week or more.

I’m already gluten free, dairy free, and corn free. I was looking up the best foods for your stomach and started to eat those. Before I was eating mostly Cocoa Pebbles with Lactose Free milk, a lot of chocolate flavored gluten free snacks, and usually one meal a day.

The best foods for your gut that help with bad bacteria are NOT always the best foods for your gallbladder. Who knew? So I had bought this salad mix with different cabbages and kale, sunflower seeds and a Sweet Onion Citrus dressing. I didn’t use the dressing I make my own. My stomach started to do a little better.

A few days ago I was starving and had a huge bowl of salad with all the cabbage and I tried a new salad dressing that said “Greek” dressing. It didn’t say it had sardines in it until you read the tiny ingredient list on the back and it was listed half way down. Caesar salad dressing has sardines not Greek! I also ate GF Brownies, Chocolate Covered Frozen Bananas, Lactose Free Gluten Free Ice Cream, I was binge eating.

I have never been in so much pain in my entire life. I wanted to go to the hospital but I refused to go to the one near us. It felt like a Boa Constrictor was wrapped under my bottom rib cage. Specifically the right side. It was hard to breathe, the pain was constant and sharp under the bottom right rib. I drank pickle juice, apple cider vinegar and peppermint tea. I’ve never had an attack last this long. From 1:00 a.m. to 8:00 a.m. I was in agony until I finally conked out.

Turns out cabbage is on the DO NOT EAT LIST for gallbladder disease. So is chocolate, coffee, chips, pork, vegetable oil, refined sugar, tap water, nuts (specific types), eggs, margarine and packaged foods. Add that to the gluten list and there isn’t much left to eat.

It’s been difficult dealing with multiple health problems that interfere with your mental health. My appointment with the Gastro Doctor isn’t until June 27th meanwhile my twin sister manages to get an impossible appointment at the Celiac Center in Boston with the Director on June 19th for her Chronic Fatigue. There are days where I just can’t handle it all.

Leave a Reply

