CHANGES TO THE HEALTH CARE SYSTEM~THE MENTALLY ILL AND ADDICTED

The GOP plan provides Americans with refundable tax credits to purchase Health Insurance. The Bill will restructure Medicaid, allowing States to require able-bodied adults to work if they want to be eligible for the program. After 2020 States are no longer able to expand Medicaid.

By 2026 the Congressional Budget Office estimates 24 million Americans would no longer be covered under this bill if it becomes law.

The Bill also would lift the taxes on drug makers and health insurers.

1.3 Million Mentally Ill and people with Addiction issues covered by Medicaid will lose care by 2020.

MY EXPERIENCE

The Health Care System has been broken for the Mentally Ill and people with Addictions for a long time. I’ve seen it fail time and time again. I’ve watched it fail relatives and myself.

My Uncle Jimmy was a Paranoid Schizophrenic who chose to be homeless and use Heroin instead of the medications they constantly used on him to experiment their effectiveness. He was in and out of institutions from a young age. Social workers took advantage of what little he had. When he was old enough he left to live on the streets.

His sister is also Paranoid Schizophrenic. She stayed in the system. She has always lived in housing with other people who have mental health issues. Her Social Worker pops in whenever he feels like it. They have control of her bank accounts. I’ve never seen her happy.

My Uncle Jimmy was happy until the day he died. I won’t say he lived an easy life because he didn’t. I’m glad he was out of touch with reality enough not to feel the pain around him. He was close to one of his sister’s, my mom. The only time I saw him cry was at her funeral. She used to drive around to find him so she could give him food and clothes. I always thought he would go before her. He had been living with HIV for years. He passed away last summer almost 9 years after my mom.

I refuse to get a Social Worker even though my sister insists that I should. She doesn’t want to be my Medical Proxy. It’s okay that I’m my dad’s and I took care of our mom though. She doesn’t work or have anything else that’s important to do. She just doesn’t want to know. The fact that we are twins hurts more.

I’ve tried working with my State’s different programs. I’ve never felt so humiliated or dehumanized in my life. I refuse to do it again. No one can deny me medical attention if needed for my Kidney Disease or something else serious. As far as paying them? You can’t get blood from a stone. If they want my 1999 Toyota RAV4 with 82,500 miles on it, they can have it. I don’t leave the house much anyway.

My family bothers me more than the Health Care system. They refuse to take anything seriously. They don’t realize that I am close to dying in more ways than one. I have tried to tell them and my father says he can’t hear me. My sister says I’m being dramatic. I have infections in my intestines, bladder, and kidney. My blood pressure is dangerously low, my temperature is down to 93.4, I’m having trouble breathing and I’ve stopped urinating. You might wonder why I haven’t gone to the Hospital. I’m Bipolar and have no one anymore. I also have a DNR. I love my dogs and my Dad but whatever happens will happen. I have an appointment on the 29th if everything goes well and I feel better physically and mentally I’m taking a vacation somewhere warm with a pool to float in.

2 responses to “CHANGES TO THE HEALTH CARE SYSTEM~THE MENTALLY ILL AND ADDICTED

Leave a Reply

