HACKSAW RIDGE

Hacksaw Ridge stars Andrew Garfield and Vince Vaughn. It’s directed by Mel Gibson. This is Mel Gibson’s first directing project in 10 years. He won Best Director for Braveheart in 1996. Hacksaw Ridge is up for Best Picture and Best Director this year at The Academy Awards.

I would like to see Mel Gibson win for Best Director, he deserves it. Unfortunately, it’s Hollywood and they can hold a grudge. After winning Best Director in 1996 it wasn’t long before things started to go downhill for Mr. Gibson. He was arrested for a DUI where he made some irrational statements to the arresting officer. This severely hurt his career. He was also accused of domestic violence by an ex-girlfriend.

*This is a side note/opinion. While reading the autobiography of a famous hard rock band the lead singer told a story where Mel Gibson showed up at his house late at night. He was already drunk and they continued drinking. Eventually the singer had to kick him out. This musician is a known alcoholic and to be kicked out of his house really says something to me. When you add in the irrational behavior and choices I can’t help but think there is something more going on. But I have a habit of seeing illness in a lot of people.*

Mr. Gibson has talked about his past problems and has said that he has done a great deal of work on himself over the years and has apologized many times. But is Hollywood willing to overlook his past?

If they don’t it would be an injustice not only to Mr. Gibson but to everyone who has struggled to keep going even though they battle the same issues he does. His work is his work. Hacksaw Ridge is as close to perfect as you can get for a film of this genre. Watching it you feel like time has flown bye.

Another aspect of the film I loved was that nothing was shoved down your throat. A true story was told. I thought the insight (shown in flashbacks) into why Doss refuses to kill or carry a gun was poignant and crucial to the film. Showing interview clips from the real people portrayed in the film at the end was emotional and really brought it all together.doss_hacksaw_ridge_movie_screen_shot

I’m not sure if it’s the Best Picture but I’m definitely sure it should win Best Director.

 

11 responses to “HACKSAW RIDGE

    • I had another blog “The Rambler Goes To The Movies” (I loved that title) but hardly anyone read it. I was impatient, I should just write it for myself because of my love for movies and because sometimes a powerful movie gets stuck on the loop machine and it would help to offload it. What do you think? Or keep doing them on here so the people that already follow can read or not read? Have I told you that I have a problem with decisions? lol I feel better today but it could be the 5 pieces of Gluten Free French Toast I just ate. I make it special. My dad doesn’t even know it’s Gluten Free.

      Liked by 1 person

    • The French Toast sounds awesome! I hope you get to try to go outside today, it’s going to be beautiful! Post them on the blog that folks already follow and know you for sure. I keep adding categories and features to my blog, I have to control myself lol. I am so glad you are doing well today, you have no idea that this makes me happy. It really does! Take full advantage of it, because we both know it turn can turn on a dime. Blessings to you

      Liked by 1 person

    • No kidding! The dog is a major problem lately. It’s to the point I’m going up to bed earlier and earlier he doesn’t stop. Plus my meds are not lasting as long in my system. But I have some Doctors that I’m hopeful about.

      Liked by 1 person

    • That’s so awesome to hear about your Dr.s What’s up with the Dog? I’d put a serious control on that animal. When they get to the point that you can’t enjoy your own house, fuck that.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I never blame the animal. It’s our fault. My dad grew up in a time where dogs were raised differently. He always had strays and never really had small breeds. He’s stubborn and doesn’t listen when I tell him NOT to do something. I’m also to blame because I have a different thought process when it comes to animals. For example: I see a man and a dog drowning. Guess which one I go to first? I’ve always been that way. I’ve given CPR to 2 dogs and 0 humans. I feel a stronger connection to animals. When my bother in law disciplined one of my Papillons by placing his foot on her chest and pushing her across the floor because she was sitting at his feet staring at him while he was eating I came very close to putting a fork in his eye. lol Dutchie can tell when I’m down so he tries to hard to make me feel better by kissing me, butting heads with me, rubbing his face against me, it’s typical behavior if he was in a pack but when it’s just me and I’m irritable it’s hard.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Try inoculating 150 pigeons by injecting them in just the right spot in their neck. That wasn’t fun but I did it. My dad quit school by the time he was 12. His only escape was animals. He taught himself everything he could about them. He learned the most about birds. I remember him looking at slides under a microscope and identifying different viruses some of the Exotic Birds he was allowed to breed had. He was one of a handful of people given a Federal Permit to work with Exotic Birds on the Endangered Species List because he was able to increase their numbers. It blows my mind that he was able to do that with very little education. I’m exactly like him when it comes to animals.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

