HOW DID YOU KNOW?

I know I’ve mentioned the importance of music to me in previous posts. At times music can lift my mood at least a little bit. Other times music can speak for me when I physically can’t. I use music for road rage and when I’m sad or overwhelmed. I have also tried to use it to explain Bipolar and Addiction to family members who have trouble understanding. So many people think that it’s just their loved one who thinks and acts the way they do.

This is one of the biggest problems. The other problem is when you think you are the only one who thinks and acts the way you do. This feeling leaves you isolated and confused.

I’ve mentioned a few songs that have helped me understand having Bipolar Disorder. There is only one that after I watched it and really listened to the words that I felt I might break.

I couldn’t comprehend how anyone could’ve put into words exactly what was in my head. How could this person seem to know conversations I had with my mother? How did they know the exact words she had said to me? How I felt, what I said in my head. How was this possible?

I had been recently diagnosed when I heard the song “Hate Me”. I knew about Bipolar Disorder because I had family members with Bipolar Disorder and other Mental Illness. Realizing the connection between Addiction and a missed diagnosis really messed with me. I was angry and sad doesn’t begin to cover it. The many, many, Doctors that I talked to along with Therapists, didn’t understand. All of them believed if I tried hard enough and took the right medications I would be fine. That just isn’t true. It isn’t true for a large percentage of Bipolar patients.

I don’t think I would be here if I hadn’t stumbled upon that song. As soon as I heard “Dropping little reels of tape to remind me that I am all alone” I was frozen. “Playing movies in my head”. “In my sick way I want to thank you for holding my head up late at night, while I was busy waging wars on myself you were trying to stop the fight.” “You made me compliment myself when it was way too hard to take”. “And then I fell down yelling MAKE IT GO AWAY! Just make a smile come back and shine just like it used to be. And then she whispered “How can you do this to me?”.

I have reels of tape or movies that play over and over. I would come home so drunk I could barely stand up, sometimes bleeding from a fight or myself. My mom would stay with me the entire night. She would listen while I told her to leave me alone, I wasn’t worth it. I would beg her to let me go. She never did. I did push it too far at last and that’s when she said “How could you do this to me?”.

There is a part in the song that I wish she could’ve seen “I’m sober now for 3 whole months it’s one accomplishment that you helped me with. The one thing that always tore us apart is the one thing I won’t touch again”.

She never saw me attain sobriety, certainly not for 9 years. I hope wherever she is that she knows how important she is. Not many parents would’ve put up with what mine did. I’m lucky to have had my mom and to have my dad now.

Thank you Blue October, not only for “Hate Me” but for the hope you give with your other music. “Fear” is another song that has made an impact. I don’t know how you reach that point of peace but it makes me feel better for a brief time just watching the progression and video.98d9b34114cb1f3bfa8eddb1ae41a4aa

 

 

4 responses to “HOW DID YOU KNOW?

  1. My sister introduced me to this band and my God… I cry just thinking about the lyrics of so many of their songs. The stuff they touch upon just reaches right into your soul, doesn’t it? And it’s truly profound and inspiring to see the progression that’s be made and I am so happy for where the lead singer is at right now. I forget his name because I suck like that. My sister has a photo of her standing with him. He’s such a great guy. He knows what we go through – addiction, divorce, mental illness, child custody – because he’s been there and that’s where the heart of his music comes from and it shines through.

    Liked by 1 person

    • When I first opened a Twitter account and had it devoted to Mental Illness and addiction he was the first person to follow me. Too bad other people ruined the experience and I had to close the account. I’m afraid to see them live I don’t think I could handle it. lol I know he’s gone in the direction of religion and that’s okay. Watching his transformation is a wonderful thing to see. I can’t watch the video for “Hate Me” too many times because it’s exactly the story of my mom and me. When he carries the answering machine to the cemetery I lose it. My sister says I watch it to punish myself. She’s not wrong.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I have never seen them live. “Hate Me” is the song/video my sister told me I needed to see/hear to understand them but it was “Light You Up” and another one about catching his other half with someone else that punched me in the gut. I only listened to the second one once. It hurt to hear it that much – the raw emotion in it just unreal. The lyrics said things I would never dare breathe aloud but have felt. I applaud them for their courage and honesty.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

