BLOCKED AND BLOCKING (Both Sides)

When you make a choice to use social media whether it’s Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, or a Blog you also can make a choice about who can interact with you.

Society has the misconception that celebrities have it easy. They have money, material things, happiness, and their lives are an open books to us. We should be able to comment or say whatever we want on their social media sites.

This is false. They have every right to block someone who is being rude or obnoxious. If they feel someone has crossed a line in any way they can block them. They should be able to do so without other people judging them or pleading on the blocked person’s behalf.

I’m not a celebrity but I have received my fair share of hurtful and damaging comments. It isn’t easy for someone like me to get over them. My first instinct is to reply which makes matters worse. I then blame myself. I have even gone into long periods of depression because of something that was posted or because I found out that someone was commenting about me to the rest of their followers only I couldn’t see it. It’s hurtful.

If I ever cross a line where I engage too much I would rather the person messaged me and said “I appreciate your comments but you might want to slow down a little or think about how much you’re interacting with me”. I don’t keep it a secret that I am Bipolar and I know that sometimes I get too excited about issues and people I respect. No one takes the time to reflect on why a person does something.

But this is the real world. Humans hurt other humans whether we like it or not. I don’t think it will ever change. I certainly don’t believe I can change it.cd5d0ac060499ce9813582ce23a945aa

Leave a Reply

