Did The Dog Eat Your Homework?

When I do a post that deals with facts or statistics, I make sure to check and double check that I’m accurate. It’s too bad not everyone does the same. In today’s society we are all too eager to accept what we hear on the news as fact. We can no longer do this. News stations have become biased and sometimes do not even fact check their own reporter’s stories. What seems like a small detail to most people, for some reason is a big deal to me.

I have Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Tumblr. I only go on Facebook to contact relatives that are out of state. I like posting pictures on Instagram and looking at art on there also. Twitter I’ve had issues with many times so I try to stay off of it. Tumblr I don’t really understand. I’ll have to take the time to figure it out.

Facebook can be a problem for me at times. I have received “anonymous” posts about how the “Mentally Ill” are using up the public’s tax dollars. One suggested we should be sterilized and put on an island so no one would have to pay for our “retarded” offspring. There was a drawing that came with it. All the people wore animal skins like cavemen and were wide eyed with wild hair. It was such a treat to receive that one.

Every time I see these offensive posts I want to retaliate. I wanted people to know that I worked hard from the age of 12 to 37. I worked 50 to 60 hour weeks for years. My cousin’s husband asked how much I received from Disability. I thought it was rude of him to ask and I wasn’t going to tell him. He kept running his mouth about how it couldn’t be enough to live on and I should find a “rich guy” while I still had my looks. I said nothing.

The day I chose sobriety was the day I started to bottle my feelings up. I never could handle confrontation or someone criticizing me. Even as I type this my cheeks feel warm with embarrassment at the thought. So I stopped having opinions and started agreeing with everyone. What I got from this behavior is a nice ulcer, migraines, and inappropriate outbursts of anger when everything had built up and my brain couldn’t take it anymore.

Now it’s Election time. For the first time in 43 years I find myself frustrated by the ignorance of those younger than me. I’m frustrated with anyone who shares quotes from FOX NEWS or a celebrity without doing their homework regarding the situation or that person.

One example I have is a girl I went to Hair School with. She supports Trump. She’s in her mid to late twenties. She shared a quote from Ted Nugent a Trump supporter. She wasn’t born when Mr. Nugent’s music was popular. One of his more popular songs is “Jailbait”. He has admitted on camera a fondness for “young girls”. In 1978 when he was 30 years old he convinced a girl’s parents to make him her legal guardian so he could have sex with her. She was 17. The song “Jailbait” discusses a sexual relationship with a 13 year old. Supposedly this is fantasy. I’m a 43 year old woman and have never fantasized about being with a teenage boy. Ever. And yes I do know that Mr. Nugent isn’t the only Musician that has done this. He is someone who has publicly admitted it, shown no remorse, sits on the board of the NRA, and speaks at Political Rallies.

In 1977 Ted Nugent told High Times how he dodged the draft. Supposedly Mr. Nugent is a staunch supporter of our Troops. Even though he himself went to great lengths not to serve his country. He purposefully made himself ill so he was pissing and defecating in his pants. He is now a Board Member of the NRA.

Mr. Nugent also sees Addiction and Mental Illness as character flaws not illnesses. He believes that a person is just “weak”. I just read a blog someone else had written about Mr. Nugent. The person was suggesting that he was mentally ill or had a drug/alcohol problem. Neither is the case. Mr. Nugent was never one to over indulge and lose control. A Narcissist maybe, but there’s no mental illness here. He knows exactly what he is doing at all times. Is anyone actually listening to him? We can only hope not.

Last example I’ll leave you with is a touchy one. People were complaining about a Navy Seal’s widow that was interviewed on the Today show because when Matt Lauer asked what she would say to her children about their dad and how she would want them to remember him, her response was “His love for Christ”. As the interview was replayed on various networks throughout the day the “His love for Christ” part was edited out. I don’t know the reasoning behind it. The person causing the largest stir is quoted as saying “If we ever forget that we’re one nation under GOD, then we will be a nation gone under”

I believe Navy Seals work for the Government which is “The State” and there must be a separation of Church and State. You can believe in any faith you want to and serve your country that is what makes the U.S. the U.S. but when you cross that slippery slope into religion it opens a can of worms. People start asking ridiculous questions or make statements that can be misconstrued. You can’t win.

I do know I’ve grown tired and too old to swallow it down anymore.

5 responses to “Did The Dog Eat Your Homework?

  1. The military has an interesting dichotomy when it comes to religion. Yes, there is supposed to be the separation of Church and State, but when a member enlists, they’re asked to proclaim their religion and it’s documented. This is possibly out of end of life respect for the individual’s religious preference, eg if the person is seriously injured or killed in combat or training, their medical treatment can be adjusted according to their religious beliefs (some mormons believe blood transfusions are a hellworthy sin because “blood is sacred”) or remains can be handled properly.

    Even as an agnostic/atheist, I don’t believe that this should have been edited out for the sake of being PC. He may have been a service member, but that doesn’t negate his widow’s right to speak her mind when asked a simple question, or that he was apparently a very religious man in addition to being a Navy Seal. He did his job, and died for his country. The God squad can be as obnoxious as they like, and us atheists have the same right. I try to minimize my exposure to Facebook for the very same reason as you – all of the ignorance circulating makes me irate! I’m better off being ignorant to the ignorance. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wouldn’t have had a problem with the media keeping the interview the way it was. After all we have freedom of speech. It was the fact that the editing was seen as a conspiracy of some kind that bothered me. I couldn’t see EVERY news station going along with it. But that could be wishful thinking. Do you get a lot of people telling “You’re not an Atheist! Since when? You’re just confused.” Because I kept getting that so much that I stopped mentioning it at all. It wasn’t worth the stress.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t mention it unless asked, same with politics. Those areas tend to cause the most amount of conflict, and I’m looking to avoid that. I’ll go to church with relatives rarely because I actually do enjoy well written sermons. It really depends on the pastor. We went to a methodist church when I was a kid, and the pastor was a biker dude (long hair, goatee, tattoos, the works) with an awesome sense of humor, so I didn’t mind dragging my ass out of bed on Sunday mornings. The bible is a fascinating book, and though it may primarily be fiction, there’s a lot of allegory that’s sort of fun. I think the problem arises when people forget it’s allegory, and take it as fact. One of my siblings is a borderline evangelical extremist; he told my Mom she’s going to hell because she was taking yoga classes. Hahahaha…wow. My sister is sort of like that, but I wasn’t afraid to tell her I don’t believe in God. My brother? No way. He’d probably tear into me.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I was keeping it to myself for the longest time until my Bipolar diagnosis. So many people were telling me I needed to pray or ask God for help that I couldn’t take it anymore. I have had traumatic experiences with someone who was a “Born Again Christian” and I think that plays a part in it. My parents were always good about letting us decide for ourselves when we got older. I try not to discuss it because I don’t have the knowledge to make valid arguments. Plus I have bigger fights on my hands. lol

      Liked by 1 person

    • Aaaah, the pushers! I went vegan for a couple of years, mostly to see if my health would improve, and people were automatically irritated by it. They probably assumed I was just as pushy as the preachy vegans. Nope, eat that steak, drink that milkshake. That’s their choice. Oddly enough, I don’t think anyone has suggested I pray, or submit the Jesus, God, Allah, Buddha, whoever. I’ve had plenty of people say “I’ll pray for you”. Hmm, thanks? Maybe it makes them feel better, and that they’re doing something when they can’t help in any other way. Perhaps I should have told them I always accept peanut butter cups as consolation. 😉

      Last year when I was stuck in the hospital, a Priest in training (Brother something…I don’t remember his name) stopped by my room. I told him I’m an atheist, but he asked if he could hang out with me for a while anyhow. I was bored to tears, so I accepted his offer of company. We ended up talking for almost an hour about nothing having to do with religion. Somehow we ended up on the topic of how much quitting smoking sucks. LOL

      You’re so right, we’ve got bigger things to worry about. I’m not afraid to tell people to ef off if they get too aggressive while peddling their beliefs.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

