Secret In Their Eyes-A Review & Commentary

“While seeking revenge, dig two graves- one for yourself”~ Douglas Horton

 

I have always been fascinated by the concept of Revenge. In my own life I have struggled with wanting vengeance on people in my past. It is a difficult path to walk, wanting it and doing it are so very different. I would like to say I have evolved on the subject but I would be lying.

SECRET IN THEIR EYES

STARRING: Chiwetel Ejiofor, Nicole Kidman, and Julia Roberts.

BASED ON: A 2005 Argentinian Novel “La Pregunt de sus Ojos”  or “The Question in Their Eyes”

OSCAR: In 2009 the Argentine film version of this novel won the Oscar for Best Foreign Film.

I have not seen the original version of this movie so I found this one to be intelligent, thought provoking, and well acted.

A team of FBI investigators Ray (Ejiofor) and Jess (Roberts) along with their D.A. supervisor Claire (Kidman) is ripped apart after a case involving Jess’s daughter is covered up. Jess’s daughter is found raped and beaten to death in a dumpster next to a Mosque. Their assignment has been in Terrorism and this causes problems when a suspect is a member of the Mosque. He’s also feeding information to a member of their team.

When it’s decided he be released for the “greater good” of the Country and disappears the team can’t handle it and breaks. The decision made was not to risk the life of thousands over one dead girl. The movie’s sentiment, not mine.

For 13 years Ray searches through mug shot books looking for the guy that got away with murder. When he finds a new lead and goes back to Jess and Claire to reopen the case it reveals a bevy of secrets and self-destruction.

Nicole Kidman’s interrogation scene was riveting. I’m not usually a fan of her work but she played this part well. Julia Roberts played the somber, disillusioned, tortured mother without fault. All of the acting was the way it should be. Natural.

The movie asks the question should you trust the Justice System, if it let’s you down do you have the right to revenge? How far would you go? I don’t want to give too much away and ruin the movie but it does make you think.

Is hatred and revenge worth the time and toll it takes on a person. Is justice something we can actually depend on to work correctly? Does revenge make you feel better?

WHERE JUSTICE HAS FAILED IN THE PAST

Unfortunately we have all seen instances where the Justice System has failed miserably. O.J. Simpson, George Zimmerman, The West Memphis Three, Margaret Kelly Michaels, and Casey Anthony are just a few instances.

Since 1980 there have been 114 wrongful convictions overturned. The West Memphis Three spent 18 years in prison after being sentenced to the Death Penalty/Life in Prison. With hardly any physical evidence and a town’s prejudice they were found Guilty.

Personally, I like the concept of revenge. Very rarely does one get away with it. My one act of revenge landed me in jail for the evening, a $600 bill for damages, probation for 1 year, and alcohol counseling for 1 year. The person I sought revenge on once again wasn’t held accountable for anything he had done.

Do I still think about revenge? Sometimes. I want all of the people who hurt me to see me now. I want them to try to talk to me and then watch my 140 pound lighter ass walk away. Some deserve more but there are just people in the world who no matter what, still come out of anything unscathed. I’ve learned this now and it does take a lot of energy to hate. I  can’t forgive or forget but I can try to live a better life.

“Revenge, the sweetest morsel to the mouth that ever was cooked in Hell”~ Walter Scott

Leave a Reply

