Why Is My Hair Stylist More Understanding?

I have a wonderful young woman that does my hair. Even though I’m a licensed Cosmetologist I can’t do my own hair. Because of Celiac Disease I have developed a muscle wasting disease. This makes it hard to hold up my arms to color my hair or cut my hair. Plus it’s nice to have it done professionally if you can.

My hair dresser is about 28 and I’m 42. She’s adorable, kind, with an innocence about her. She lights up a room. She’s just one of those people. She kind of knew right away that something was different about me. Sometimes I was shy and quiet and sometimes I would talk too much. She had lived with her friend who is Bipolar for a few years and saw some similarities. She never asked but I told her anyway. We had gone out for chicken wings and I knew she knew so I just confirmed it.

She knows I’ve been having a hard time lately. She posted something on Facebook that was so kind I cried for a long time. She understood. She really did. She was letting everyone know in her way to just listen to someone like me or someone who might be depressed that it’s all we need to do for each other. It said other things I can’t remember of course. The thing is my sister doesn’t even get this. My father doesn’t get this. No one around me gets it. They just walk around me like they can’t see me. So Britt thanks for seeing me and making me feel pretty at the same time. Love you.

Leave a Reply

