Pet Adoptions and Rescues

I’ve been looking at animals up for adoption or at rescues. I have to say that what I’ve seen irritates me to say the least.

Chico- A Chinese Crested, Maltese, Terrier mix, or so they think has an adoption fee of $425.

Dobbie- A Yorkie Chihuahua mix has an adoption fee of $425

Ham & Eggs- Two Chihuahua brothers that can’t be separated are $280 a piece.

These are from several different places associated with the ASPCA or Humane Society.

You also have to provide proof that you own your home or written letter from your landlord.

You have to provide up to date vet records for any animals currently living in your house.

You have to bring these animals in to meet the dog you want to adopt. I’m sure my Epileptic Pomeranian would love the car ride, the barking and chaos of 40 other dogs surrounding her while she meets a new friend. And my senior Papillon with cataracts and arthritis will enjoy it too.

The say they need adopters to support all rescue pets. Not just the dog they adopt. They need to cover vet expenses for all of the dogs taken in.

I understand this. I really do. But I know for a fact that a lot of the dogs that come in are already spayed or neutered. At least at the places I went to. I also know vets that volunteer their time and services. Maybe not everywhere but where I went. I keep seeing pictures of the same dogs up for adoption week after week. I would’ve taken Ham & Eggs in a heartbeat if they didn’t want me to drag my poor dogs into a new environment and ask them to make friends. It doesn’t work. I understand showing you have a place to live that accepts dogs. In my case it would have gone easier if I just brought them home. I know my father. He was on the fence about it. He couldn’t make a decision. And it shames me to say I even would have paid the $280 a piece for them. You know why? Because for that one day I spent with them I was happy, happier than I have been in a long time. So were they.

They’re still there waiting. Waiting for someone to follow all the rules and red tape. I hope they don’t have to wait long for their happiness.

Leave a Reply

