Differences Between Borderline Personality Disorder and Bipolar Disorder

For someone who has multiple diagnoses it can be frustrating, exhausting and leave you feeling powerless when it comes to information or lack of information. Then you have misinformation which is just as harmful. I can’t tell you how many times a Dr. has diagnosed me with something and a year later after doing research on my own and getting 2nd and 3rd opinions find out I never had what I was diagnosed with. Case in point, Essential Tremors. I never had Essential Tremors. Two other doctors confirmed it after I researched everything and made sure I understood what it was, what caused it and if there were genetic factors. Again, most doctors do not like you to do this. Too bad. Find another doctor if they discourage you from being informed. Try not to sound like a know it all. Usually I’m pretty good at this. I nod my head or just say yes or no. It is only when I have said the same thing 10 times and I’m still ignored that I sound like a know it all. I hate repeating myself or raising my voice. My vocal cords tremor and I have trouble raising my voice. I shouldn’t have to.

Back to the topic at hand. I’ll try not to stray. For my hands sake I’m shortening Borderline Personality Disorder to BPD and Bipolar Disorder to BD. Got it? Thanks. Both disorders share some traits like impulsivity, unstable mood, and possible drug/alcohol abuse.

BPD is known mostly as a personality disorder where BD is a mood disorder. In BPD a person’s personality or moods change often and are more dependent on outside factors. In Bipolar Disorder mood episodes last longer sometimes days or weeks. There are some people that have been “stuck” in a depressive episode for up to a year. Episodes are more out of the blue and doesn’t NEED a trigger but will react to one. In BPD mood swings are more distinct, more specific than in Bipolar. In Bipolar they are unstable and go from periods of all encompassing mania or depression.

As you can see it’s difficult to differentiate between the two. It’s important to find the right doctor AND tell them the truth. If you hold back they can’t help you. Believe me they have heard it all. Good Luck.

About darie73

I'm a daughter, a sister, and an Aunt. I've worked in the Hair Industry, Jewelry Manufacturing, and Retail Management. I'm also an Alcoholic, diagnosed Bipolar, Conversion Disorder, Anxiety, Celiac Disease, and other health issues. I talk about all of these things as honestly as I can. The stigma, medications, doctors, family problems, support or lack of support. I advocate for people like me, animals, and anyone else who feels like they don't have a voice. These are my opinions, I just ask that readers be respectful. Haven't we all been kicked enough when we are down? It's time to change that. View all posts by darie73

You must be logged in to post a comment.

