Dealing With Treatment Resistant Bipolar Disorder

I deal with treatment resistant Bipolar Disorder. I still take a combo of meds that make some days tolerable. I have been to several doctors to confirm that my doctor is right. I knew he was but my family was not accepting any of it. They still don’t. There are few ways to treat this. The biggest one is ECT or shock therapy. The patient has to have it 3 times a week for 6 weeks. More than half of those patients relapse within 6 months and have to go back for more. I have had it done once and found it extremely unpleasant. I also responded differently. I went into an extremely manic phase for awhile. After about a month I crashed. All of the other treatments have to do with some type of brain stimulation. Because I have memory and cognitive issues as it is the doctors are leary of doing them. Supposedly there is hope on the horizon with a new drug using Ketamine. It is I believe still in it’s trial stage but is said to relieve depression within 5 minutes. I would sell some body parts for that kind of relief, that is if I had any healthy ones. But hope is a strange thing, as long as you still have it you can keep fighting no matter what anyone else does or says.

2 responses to “Dealing With Treatment Resistant Bipolar Disorder

  1. Have you tried a monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) with lithium? I have treatment-resistant bipolar one disorder, and that combination lifted my severe bipolar depression. MAOI’ s have dietary restrictions that sound challenging, but they are not that bad and they’re totally worth it!

    Like

    • I have tried MAOIs but I can’t take Lithium due to my Liver and Kidneys being damaged already. They are testing my kidneys to see if they are healthy enough for me to donate one to my father. I insisted because I believe most of the damage is in my Liver. So either way I don’t want to risk it. The other thing is seeing my Aunt on lithium for so many years. She scared my sister and I when we were little. As I got older I wasn’t scared just irritated. Everyone always blamed her meds and that has stayed with me even now. I don’t want to act like she did. My sister and I were in constant fear of that happening. It is irrational, I know it is mostly her disease but hard to change a thought process you have had since you were 6. I’m glad it has worked for you! It’s amazing how different each person is and what works for some and not for others. Thank you for your time and good luck it isn’t easy but we do the best we can.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

